The 2024 CERN openlab summer student programme has started – don't miss our lectures on exciting computing topics!

2023 CERN openlab Summer Students


The 2024 CERN openlab Summer Student Programme has started!

All summer students have arrived, and the programme is officially starting today, with CERN experts delivering a series of special lectures during the next five weeks. CERN experts will cover various computing topics for five weeks, from high-performance computing and artificial intelligence technologies to quantum computing. You can watch the lectures on the CERN Webcast website.

Anyone interested in exploring computing at CERN can participate in the free online lecture programme. The complete list of topics is available here.

Attendees will learn how CERN processes big data from particle collisions in the LHC and the techniques used to improve data flows. New solutions to tackle the computing challenges posed by the upcoming High-Luminosity Large Hadron Collider (HL-LHC) will also be explored, among other topics.

Education is central to CERN openlab's mission to promote the next generation of computing experts. Thirty students from 21 nationalities representing the universities below were selected out of over 6660 applicants. Students will work on various computing projects during a nine-week hands-on experience with advanced computing technologies, which will provide excellent opportunities for students' future careers.

Meet the selected students:

Michal Mikolaj Wojcik, University of Warsaw

Cristobal Gimenez Devis, University of Bergen

Ali Hafez, Yale University

Nourhene Jallali, National Engineering School of Tunis

Jakub Ogrodowczyk, Wroclaw University of Science and Technology

Karanjot Singh, Jaypee Institute of Information Technology

Volodymyr Svintozelskyi, University of Valencia

Asal Mehrabi, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya

Gehad Ahmed, The American University in Cairo

Annunziata Alvarez-Cascos Hervias, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid

Andrea Maria Ola Mejicanos, Berea College

Anastasiia Petrovych, Ukrainina Catholic University

Saumy Sharma, Institute of Technology Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya

Irina Bradu, Politechnica University of Bucharest

Riccardo Carissimi, Università degli Studi di Milano

Fabio Cufino, TU Dortmund University

Mouad El Haouari, Ecole Nationale Superieure d'Informatique (Alger)

Isidro Javier Garcia Fernandez, Universidad de Málaga

Mihail Codrin Iftode, University of Edinburgh

Tomasz Jan Kisiel, Cracow University of Technology

Christian Alex Klempau Funk, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile

Kacper Kamil Kozik, AGH University of Science and Technology

Thomas Mauran, Polytech Montpellier

Henry Mutegeki, Makerere University

Zeynep Ozturk, Dokuz Eylul University

Ruben Perez Mercado, Universidad de Granada

Mohammed Touami, Ecole Nationale Superieure d'Informatique (Alger)

Victor Virag, University College London

Siria Yerlany Sadeddin Mejia, Universidad Nacional de Colombia

Guilherme Paulino, Universidade Estadual de Campinas